An exceptional example of a Florentine fourteenth-century residence, the building shows the transition from the medieval tower-house to the Renaissance palace. The interior is decorated with precious paintings and sculptures from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries along with furnishings from various eras, following the original idea of Elia Volpi. The painter, restorer and antiquarian refurbished its rooms and opened “the Museum of the Ancient Florentine House” to the public in 1910. Since 1956 the Palazzo has become a fascinating State museum, suited to a strong educational purpose to enhance, through the domestic setting, objects of art and daily use. The museum also houses one of the most important public collections of lacework and embroidery, with the 2018 addition of a significant set of drawings for this kind of manufacture.